Woodsville Guaranty Saving Bank Press Release 6/4/16

Woodsville Guaranty Saving Bank Press Release 6/4/16

Chaffee gets the win in the Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds
Five weeks five different winners in the Wells River Chevrolet DIRTcar Sportsman Coupes.

For Immediate Release BRS-0060416-1

BRADFORD, VT – Overflowing pits provided plenty of great racing excitement for the fans from twenty eight fast paced green flag laps to flips and spills on Woodsville Guaranty Saving Bank night at the races.
Kevin Chaffee, Bradford VT finally, finally, finally grabs the win in the Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds beating out Adam Pierson breaking his four week winning streak. Before he got to the front Trever Rocke got the jump on the start of the event taking the lead from pole sitter Michael Dunn. Rocke survived back to back caution restarts on laps six and seven, but would fall to DJ Robinson’s efforts for the lead on lap thirteen. Robinson held off Rocke and Dunn until cautioned waved again on lap twenty four. As the battle was going on in the front of the pack, Kevin Chaffee was methodically making his way from the back to the front. Robinson held the point for one ore lap before Chaffee grabbed the lead on lap twenty six. The final caution of the event came on lap thirty three, and when the field was reset it was no surprise to see Pierson having come from the last starting spot on the grid, because he failed to qualify, knocking on Chaffee’s door. Chaffee, having finished second to Pierson one too many times this year wasn’t giving in, and he was able to hold on to the point to take home the win. Pierson crossed in second with Robinson holding on for third. Tim Hodge and Michael Dunn completed the top five.
Buster Kathan and Stan Otterman brought the field of the Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupes, to the green for the thirty lap main event and would have to do a double take on the opening lap and the last lap before they could score it in the record books. The middle laps were all green flag racing with Mitchell Frost taking the point away from Kathan on lap seven. Frost held on for four laps before falling to the hard charging efforts of Jason Horniak. Horniak held the point for the next dozen laps before Frost was able to get by him. Horniak reclaimed the lead with two to go looking poised to grab the checkers, before the caution waived with one lap to go. The restart saw Frost with the jump, becoming the fifth different winner in as many weeks beating out Horniak for the win. Horniak held on for second with Jason Colbeth taking home third. Rookie Chris LaForest had a great run coming home in fifth and Thomas Placey rounded out the top five.
The Laquerre Sports USAC DMA Midgets were once again dominated by the Manafort machines, but this time it was Adam Pierson for the win over team mate Josh Sunn. Pierson coming from 10th took the lead on lap fourteen and from there never looked back. Sunn would not have anything for his team and would have to settle for the bridesmaid position. Adam Whitney continues to silently make his presence know as he comes home in third tight on the heels of Sunn. Veteran Jeff horn crossed in fourth with Robert Tucker taking home fifth.
The USAC DMA Midgets will be making their first of two trips this season to Albany Saratoga this Friday June 10th.
Tim Martin grabs the win again in the Mike Rivers Automotive Limited Late Models over rookies Wayland Childs and Don Reynolds. Martin took the lead away from Don Reynolds on lap one and proceeded to dust the field. TJ Morse and Brian Bishop rounded out the top five.
Not one but two flips on lap two of the Weglarz Property Service Four Cylinder feature brought the field to read, and once both cars were righted, drivers pronounced A-Okay racing resumed with Sean Perron holding point. Perron stayed on top until lap eight when Mike Ryan took over for a commanding lead for the rest of the event. Ryan held off Jesse Durkee for the win with Buddy Welch right on their tails to take home third. Chris Sweet and Sean Perron rounded out the top five.
The Granite State Mini Sprints were back in the house with a strong field of 500cc’s on hand for the fans. Tanner Siemons was a quarter lap away from his first win of the season at the Ridge when his engine let go and also his dreams of the win. Owen Carbee was there to take the point and the win with Bob Griffin coming home in second and Ed Vickery crossing the line in third. In the 600cc’s John the Jet Scarbough grabbed the win over Kyle Belliveau in second and Tony Shaw in third.
Bear Ridge Speedway’s 49th season of stock car racing continues on Saturday, June 11th with the Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds, Wells River Chevrolet DIRTcar Sportsman Coupes, Mike Rivers Automotive Limited Late Models, and the Weglarz Property Service Four Cylinders. Plus SCoNE, Kids Rides and 4 Cylinder Madness, all brought to you by Mekkelsen RV. Special General Admission applies $13 for adults (age 18-61), $10 for teens (12-17) and seniors (62+), and $2 for children; Visa and MasterCard are accepted. Racing begins at the famous “6:00-ish” start time.
Bear Ridge Speedway is located on Kidder Road in Bradford, VT, just off Exit 16 on Interstate 91. For more information, call (802) 222-4052 or visit www.bearridgespeedway.com.

99ROCK Weekly Racing Series
Bear Ridge Speedway — Bradford, VT
Saturday, May 28, 2016

Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Feature (40 laps)
1st 73 Kevin Chaffee
2nd 15 Adam Pierson
3rd 4 DJ Robinson
4th 2 Tim Hodge
5th 9 Michael Dunn
6th 5 Gary Siemons
7th 91nh James Fadden ®
8th 81 Louie Cadwell
9th 24 Jordan Fornwalt
10th 63 Trever Rocke ®
11th 97 Terry Williams ®
12th 10 Derek Graham
13th 91 Tim Tucker
14th 10s Ryan Christian
15th 18 Matt Lashua ®
16th 40 Steven Flint
17th 97H Alan Hammond
18th 70 Lenny Pillsbury ®
19th 12 Stevie Bell
20th 631 Todd Buckwold ®
21st 22B Martin Mastic ®
22nd F82 Thomas Kimball
23rd 11 Josh Sunn
24th 42c Josh Currier
25th 7 Robert Thurston ®

Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupe Feature (30 laps)
1 14 Mitchell Frost
2 3 Jason Horniak
3 18 Jason Colbeth
4 56 Chris LaForest ®
5 22 Thomas Placey
6 71 Josh Harrington
7 2 Tim Hodge
8 44 Michael Danforth
9 21e Matt Ellsworth
10 28 Bob Shepard
11 43 Earl Maxham
12 16 Brian Chaffee
13 24 Jeremy Beckley
14 33 Melvin Pierson
15 13 Buster Kathan
16 42 Tyler Maxham ®
17 78 Stan Otterman ®

Laquerre’s Sports USAC DMA Midgets Feature (20 laps)
1 76 Adam Pierson
2 67 Josh Sunn
3 12 Adam Whitney
4 A1 Jeff Horn
5 17 Robert Tucker
6 1W Ray Miller
7 46 Kenney Johnson
8 15 Jeff Champagne
9 11 Alex Rose
10 42 Manny Dias
11 6x Mark Cole
12 2 Kevin Chaffee
13 O9 Amanda Habel
14 69 Dean Christensen
3 Bob White (DNS)

Mike Rivers Automotive Limited Late Model Feature (20 laps)
1st O2 Wayland Child ®
2nd 83 Tim Martin
3rd 87 Don Reynolds
4th 11 TJ Morse®
5th 1 Brian Bishop
6th 2 Derrick Stearns

Weglarz Property Management 4-Cylinder Feature (20 laps)
1st 86 Mike Ryan
2nd 65 Robert Welch
3rd 88 Jesse Durkee
4th 9 Jim Durkee
5th 49 Kevin Laforest ®
6th 22 Chris Sweet
7th 19 Bobby Bell
8th 83 Mike Sherburne
9th 13 Jason Porter
10th 11vt Jacob Roy
11th 17 Shane Stygles
12th 3 Charlie Lakin
13th 29J Justin Stockman®
14th 71 Rodney Davis ®
15th 8 Sean Perron

Blackmount Equipment Semi Feature winner: #86 Mike Ryan

Contact: April May Preston Email: brsdirt@charter.net
Phone: (802) 222-4052