Terry Williams Nabs Sportsman Modified Win, Still no Repeat Winners in the Sportsman Coupes

Terry Williams Nabs Sportsman Modified Win, Still no Repeat Winners in the Sportsman Coupes

 For Immediate Release                                                                                                                                                                      BRS-071418-01

Casella Waste Systems night featured exciting Rim Riding Victories in Multiple Divisions Saturday Night and the Granite State Mini-Sprints were on hand for the annual Len West Memorial race in addition to all the regular divisions of the 99Rock Weekly Racing Series.

The Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds saw Mike Ryan take the lead when the green flew. He engaged in a battle with Mike Dunn for the top spot for a number of laps before solidly claiming the lead. Ryan led until a lap fourteen caution tightened the field up and on the restart Ryan Christian jumped to the top spot. It looked like Christian had a victory well in sight as while he led Terry Williams and Adam Pierson engaged in an epic battle for second, swapping the spot numerous times. A Lap thirty four restart proved to be just what Terry Williams needed as he took to the high side and flew by Adam Pierson to second and lap later rode the high side to the lead, winning for the first time this season. Ryan Christian was second with Adam Pierson third. Jordan Fornwalt and Kevin Chaffee completed the top five.

Former track Champion Jason Colbeth started on the pole of the Wells River Chevrolet DIRTcar Sportsman Coupe Feature and that is always bad news to the rest of the field. Colbeth jumped to the lead at the onset of the event and led all thirty laps to take the win to make sure that there still has not been a repeat winner in the division. It was not without a few challenges as the caution flag appeared a few times and he had to hold off first current points leader Chris LaForest and later Melvin Pierson. At the Checkers it was Jason Colbeth with his first win of the season with Melvin Pierson second, Chris LaForest third, Todd Heyward from deep in the field for fourth and Jason Horniak fifth.

The Laquerre’s Sports USAC DMA Midgets went caution free with Will Hull firing from the fourteenth spot at the start only to take to the top and put on a flying high side show, coming all the way to the front to take the lead before the third lap was complete. From there Hull pulled away to take the easy dominating win. Derek O’Hearn finished in the runner-up spot with Adam Whitney making some late race moves to finish third. Current Points leader Jason Goff was fourth with Seth Carlson fifth.

It was race number three of the Bear Ridge-Legion Speedway Late Model Challenge and the result was what it has been most of the year with Ryan Christian in victory lane in the C. A. Miller Limited Late Models. Rookie Hunter Garduno led the first three laps before Legion Speedway regular Russ Coutu took the top spot, holding the lead until Christian took to the front on lap thirteen and ran to the win. It looked like Coutu was on his way to a fine second place run, but he hit the wall as the white flew, ending his day. At the line George Osgood took second with Matt Pike third, John Neddo fourth and Hunter Nutter fifth.

The Weglarz Property Service Four Cylinders found Kelly Miller Jr leading the first three laps before Buddy Welch took the top spot. From there it was Welch all the way as he ran to the easy win. Bobby Bell had a fine run to finish second with Kevin LaForest making a late race move to finish third. Jason Porter and Points leader Danny Doyle rounded out the top five.

The Granite State Mini Sprints were on hand for the running of the annual Len West Memorial. The 500cc class saw Tom Chaffee take the lead early and run to the victory in the caution free event with Joe Kemp second and Chaffee’s son, Riley, finishing third. The 600cc Main saw Zach Herbert, who started last on the field rim ride to the front and take the lead well before the halfway point and take a dominating win. Drew Eldridge finished second with Mark Wiggett third.

Bear Ridge Speedway’s 51st season of dirt car racing continues Saturday, July 21st with Interstate Batteries of Newmont/JTB Towing & Recovery presenting the Sprint Cars of New England joining with the Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds, Wells River Chevrolet DIRTcar Sportsman Coupes, the Weglarz Property Service Four Cylinders and it is Madness Night for the C.A. Miller Limited Late Models (Laquerre’s Sports USC DMA Midgets Off) Admission for the 99Rock Weekly Racing Series is $13 for adults (age 18-61), $10 for teens (12-17) and seniors (62+), and $2 for children; Visa and MasterCard are accepted. Racing begins at the famous “6:00-ish” start time.

Bear Ridge Speedway is as an alcohol free family friendly entertainment spot, with our goal to make each experience at the Ridge better than the last. Remember “Dirt where every lap is the last lap” we continue to offer the best source of good inexpensive high quality entertainment for families.

Bear Ridge Speedway is located off exit 16 of I91 on to Rte 25 west 1 mile to South Road up the hill to Kidder Rd. The green will wave every Saturday starting May 6th at 6:00 pm(ish). Be sure to check the web www.bearridgespeedway.com Questions can be sent to brsdirt@charter.net

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS – Casella Waste Management Night, July 14th 2018

99ROCK Weekly Racing Series

Bear Ridge Speedway — Bradford, VT


Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Feature (40 laps)

  1. Terry Williams
  2. Ryan Christian
  3. Adam Pierson
  4. Jordan Fornwalt
  5. Kevin Chaffee
  6. Robert Tucker
  7. Tim Tucker
  8. Todd Buckwold
  9. Richie Simmons
  10. DJ Robinson
  11. Walter Hammond
  12. Ricky Sanville
  13. Tanner Siemons
  14. Wayne Stearns
  15. Ryan Farnham
  16. Mike Ryan
  17. Mike Dunn
  18. Walt Hammond
  19. Jeremy Huntoon
  20. Derek O’Hearn
  21. Matt Lashua


Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupe Feature (30 laps)

  1. Jason Colbeth
  2. Melvin Pierson
  3. Chris LaForest
  4. Todd Heyward
  5. Josh Horniak
  6. Josh Harrington
  7. Brian Chaffee
  8. Tad Kingsbury
  9. Earl Maxham
  10. Kevin Dickinson
  11. Gene Pierson Jr
  12. Tanner Siemons
  13. Matt Ellsworth
  14. Dan Johnston
  15. Buster Kathan
  16. Mike Stender
  17. Tim Hodge



Laquerre’s Sports USAC DMA Midgets Feature (25 laps)

  1. Will Hull
  2. Derek O’Hearn
  3. Adam Whitney
  4. Jason Goff
  5. Seth Carlson
  6. Joe Krawiec
  7. Jeff Horn
  8. Brandon Emerson
  9. David Moniz

     10.Matt Covey

     11.Justin Phillips

     12.Randy Higginson

     13.Manny Dias

     14.Mike Chaffee

     15.Dan Douville-DNS


C.A. Miller Limited Late Model Feature (20 laps)

  1. Ryan Christian
  2. George Osgood
  3. Matt Pike
  4. John Neddo
  5. Hunter Nutter
  6. Nicholas Logley
  7. Kelly Miller
  8. Russell Coutu
  9. Tyler Trembley

     10.Hunter Garduno

     11.Brian Bigue

     12.Travis Smith-DNS


Weglarz Property Management 4-Cylinder Feature (20 laps)

  1. Buddy Welch
  2. Bobby Bell
  3. Kevin LaForest
  4. Jason Porter
  5. Danny Doyle
  6. Jesse Durkee
  7. Zach Audet
  8. David Durkee Jr
  9. Cody Copeland
  10. Owen Carbee
  11. Dennis Perry
  12. James Shuefelt
  13. Charlie Lakin
  14. Richard Stockwell
  15. Cody Smith
  16. Robert Audet
  17. Peter Burt
  18. Kelly Miller Jr
  19. Deven Stearns
  20. Garret Brown
  21. Richard Longley