Sabil & Sons Press 8/20

Sabil & Sons Press 8/20

Steven Flint gets his first win in the DIRTcar Sabil & Sons Sportsman Modifieds
Tyler Austin gets the win in the WYKR SCoNE in their green to checkers event

For Immediate Release BRS-082016-1

BRADFORD, VT – Sabil and Sons Old Timers night was once again a huge success with over twenty cars of yesteryear on display for all to see. In conjunction with NEAR cars and drivers relived memories of days gone by and took to the track for a few laps to display how it was in the good ole days.
The WYKR Sprint Cars of New England were on hand for a thirty lap main event, and the touring division put on a great show for the fans. Being the only division seemingly able to get around the track without a caution. After thirty laps the field crossed the line with Tyler Austin grabbing the win over Will Hull and Dan Douville. Chad Turck and Luke Greenwood completed the top five.
The DIRTcar Sabil & Sons Sportsman Modifieds after two time outs finally finished their forty lap event which was shortened to thirty with Steven Flint crossing the line first to grab his first win of the season. Mike Dunn and Todd Buckwold joined him in victory lane. Adam Pierson and James Fadden completed the top five.
Eleven different drivers are able to say they are a winner in the DIRTcar Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupes, two of them being rookies. This week it would be rookie number two who was able to hold on to the lead, as the pace was only slowed two times for caution. Stan Otterman held off the hard fought challenges of Earl Maxham behind the wheel of the Tim Hodge machine. Maxham would have to settle for second with Matt Ellsworth coming home in third to join them in victory lane. Michael Danforth and Jason Colbeth completed the top five.
The Laquerre Sports USAC DMA Midgets will return August 20th for their bi-weekly racing action.
A new winner is crowned in the Mike Rivers Automotive Limited Late Models as Derek Stearns finally is able to grab the win. He beat out Tim Martin who came home in second and Wayland Childs in third. TJ Morse and Don Reynolds completed the top five.
Charlie Lakin made it one spot higher than last time in the Weglarz Property Service Four Cylinders holding on for second spot in victory lane. He was beat out by Jesse Durkee who came to the front for the win. Mike Ryan grabbed the final victory lane spot coming home in third. Buddy Welch and Danny Doyle rounded out the top five.
To say the performance of Sportsman Modified drivers, crews, and family members was a disappointment would be an understatement. It would behoove each and every driver, crew member and significant other to read the article in the August 16th Area Auto Racing News about Erica Bicknell-Jones and Ontario’s Merrittville Speedway. One of her main points is “At the beginning there always seemed to be a certain level of respect that people had for each other. Now, in general there is a lack of respect, driver to driver, driver to official.” There is a lot more in that article that hits home for me. Butch before me and now the two of us for the past fourteen years together have put all of our efforts, resources, and energy into trying to make Bear Ridge Speedway a great place to race and to watch racing. For Butch it has always been about being there for the racer, seemingly to a fault after Saturday night. We want nothing more than to be successful for the drivers and fans. We know we won’t get it right every time, there isn’t a promoter in the country who will. Performances like this last week make it hard to remember why we do it, and extremely discouraging. Having stewed all day on what to write for this press it seems this is all there is.
Bear Ridge Speedway’s 49th season of stock car racing continues on Saturday, August 27h with our Bradford Bull Dogs Benefit Night sponsored by Dead River Co. The full card of racing features the Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds, Wells River Chevrolet DIRTcar Sportsman Coupes, Laquerre’s Sports USAC DMA Midgets, Mike Rivers Automotive Limited Late Models, and the Weglarz Property Service Four Cylinders. Plus Kids Rides. General admission pricing applies: $10.00 adults; $8.00 teens & seniors, and $2 for children; Visa and MasterCard are accepted. Racing begins at the famous “6:00-ish” start time.
Bear Ridge Speedway is located on Kidder Road in Bradford, VT, just off Exit 16 on Interstate 91. For more information, call (802) 222-4052 or visit

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS – Sabil & Sons “Old Timer” Night
99ROCK Weekly Racing Series
Bear Ridge Speedway — Bradford, VT
Saturday, August 20, 2016

Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Feature (30 Laps)
1st 40 Steven Flint
2nd 9 Michael Dunn
3rd 631 Todd Buckwold ®
4th 15 Adam Pierson
5th 70 Lenny Pillsbury ®
6th 1vt Richie Simmons
7th F82 Thomas Kimball
8th 42c Josh Currier
9th 63 Trever Rocke®
10th 11 Josh Sunn
11th 97 Terry Williams®
12th 18 Matt Lashua ®
13th 96 Rob Maxon
14th 10s Ryan Christian
15th 12c Jamie Ferland
16th 73 Kevin Chaffee
17th 4 DJ Robinson
18th 10 Derek Graham
19th 70D Chris Donnelly
20th 5 Gary Siemons
21st 1x TC Forward
22nd 87 Todd Fenoff
23rd 24 Jordan Fornwalt
24th 91nh James Fadden ® (weight)
Heat race one winner: Josh Sunn
Heat race two winner: Terry Williams
Heat race three winner: Steven Flint
Blackmount Equipment Semi Feature winner: Josh Sunn

Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupe Feature (30 Laps)
1st 78 Stan Otterman
2nd 43 Earl Maxham
3rd 21e Matt Ellsworth
4th 44 Michael Danforth
5th 18 Jason Colbeth
6th 22 Thomas Placey
7th 16 Brian Chaffee
8th 3 Jason Horniak
9th 5c Mike Chaffee
10th 14 Mitchell Forest
11th 28 Bob Shepard
12th 17 Todd Hayward
13th 13 Buster Kathan
14th 71 Josh Harrington
15th 43 Tyler Maxham ®
16th 56 Chris LaForest ®Heat winners:
Heat one: Jason Colbeth
Heat two: Buster Kathan

Laquerre’s Sports USAC DMA Midgets Feature (20 laps)
Return 8/27

Heat Winners:
Heat one:
Heat two:
Elliott Beverage Dash winner:

Mike Rivers Automotive Limited Late Model Feature (20 Laps)
1st 3 Derrick Stearns
2nd 83 Tim Martin
3rd O2 Wayland Childs ®
4th 11 TJ Morse®
5th 87 Don Reynolds
6th 4 Cary Moulton
7th o5 Chad Martin
8th 2 Jeremy Stygles

Weglarz Property Management 4-Cylinder Feature (20 laps)
1st 88 Jesse Durkee
2nd 3 Charlie Lakin
3rd 86 Mike Ryan
4th 65 Robert Welch
5th o2 Danny Doyle
6th 49 Kevin Laforest ®
7th 13 Jason Porter
8th 22 Jonathon Baker
9th 71 Rodney Davis
10th 8 Sean Perron
11th 17 Shane Stygles
12th 86nh Eric Castiglioni
13th 53 David Flanders
14th 50 Xander Emerson
15th 29j Justin Stockman

Contact: April May Preston Email:
Phone: (802) 222-4052