Woodsville Guaranty Savings Bank 5/30/15

Woodsville Guaranty Savings Bank 5/30/15

Robert Tucker Dominates Rain Shortened Sportsman Modified Feature

Pierson’s win again in USAC Dirt Midgets and Sportsman Coupes


For Immediate Release                                                                                                                                                                     BRS-053015-1


BRADFORD, VT – Robert Tucker took full advantage of his front row starting position to run to a dominating win in the Bond Auto DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Feature. Tucker led all 41 laps while running the cushion on the high side before the rain hit and shortened the Feature from 61 to 41 laps. Evan Kingsbury and Mike Gendron waged a torrid race long battle for Second with Gendron claiming the spot. Kingsbury was third with a fast closing Adam Pierson finishing fourth after starting 14th with Current Points’ leader Josh Sunn completing the top five.

Corinth, VT resident Adam Pierson took the win in the USAC Dirt Midget feature after taking the lead from early leader Mike Chaffee with three laps in the books. Pierson had some anxious moments however as his mount developed a skip partway through the event and was running very roughly during the events caution periods. There was a short but intense 3-wide battle for second behind Pierson and when the action settled down Josh Sunn took the spot, eventually pulling away from third place finisher Dean Christensen. Scott Holcomb finished fourth and also won the Elliot Beverage Dash for Cash with Frank Malec completing the top five.

The Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupes ran a 50-lap, extended distance main event that found Melvin Pierson handily winning his Second Feature of the season. Pierson took the lead from Buster Kathan with 10 laps complete and was never really challenged, in spite of numerous restarts. Jason Horniak and Josh Harrington ran side-by-side for second for nearly 15 laps before Horniak forged ahead to claim the spot. Harrington was third with Jonathan Covey finishing fourth after starting last in the 17 car field. Jeremy Beckley completed the top five.

The Crazy Ed’s Limited Late Model and Weglarz Property Management/F.M.S. Auto Parts Features that fell victim to the rain will be completed at a later date.

Bear Ridge Speedway’s 48th season of stock car racing continues with Mekkelsen RV night June 6th. A full card of the 99ROCK Weekly Racing Series Modifieds, Coupes, Late Models and 4-Cylinders is on tap, with it being “Madness Night” for the 4-Cylinders. Also on the schedule are the Granite State Mini Sprints and the ever popular Kid’s Rides. General admission is $10 for adults (age 18-61), $8 for teens (12-17) and seniors (62+), and $2 for children; Visa and MasterCard are accepted. Racing begins at the famous “6:00-ish” start time.

Bear Ridge Speedway is located on Kidder Road in Bradford, VT, just off Exit 16 on Interstate 91. For more information, call (802) 222-4052 or visit www.bearridgespeedway.com.


UNOFFICIAL RESULTS – Woodsville Guaranty Savings Bank Night

Bear Ridge Speedway — Bradford, VT

Saturday, May 30th, 2015


Bond Auto DIRTcar Sportsman Modified (41 laps-Rain Shortened)

  1. Robert Tucker
  2. Mike Gendron
  3. Evan Kingsbury
  4. Adam Pierson
  5. Josh Sunn
  6. C. Forward
  7. Derek Graham
  8. Gary Siemons
  9. Richie Simmons
  10. Jason Gray
  11. Jordan Fornwalt
  12. Travis Shinn
  13. Kevin Chaffee
  14. J. Robinson
  15. Tim Tucker
  16. Tim Williams
  17. Mike Dunn
  18. Ryan Christian
  19. Jamie Ferland
  20. Josh Currier
  21. Steven Flint
  22. Thomas Kimball


USAC Dirt Midget Association (25 laps)

  1. Adam Pierson
  2. Josh Sunn
  3. Dean Christensen
  4. Scott Holcomb
  5. Frank Malec
  6. Seth Carlson
  7. Kevin Chaffee
  8. Jeff Horn
  9. Scott Duell
  10. Andy Barrows
  11. Vince Lucca
  12. Timothy Gallant
  13. David Moniz
  14. Chris Donnelly
  15. Mike Chaffee
  16. Rob Williams
  17. Ray Miller
  18. Kenny Johnson


Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupe (50 laps)

  1. Melvin Pierson
  2. Jason Horniak
  3. Josh Harrington
  4. Jonathan Covey
  5. Jeremy Beckley
  6. Michael Danforth
  7. Tim Hodge
  8. Bob Shepard
  9. Brian Chaffee
  10. Thomas Placey
  11. Martin Mastic
  12. Buster Kathan
  13. Jason Colbeth
  14. Matt Ellsworth
  15. Mitchell Frost
  16. Teddy Salomaa
  17. Todd Hayward