Richie Simmons Garners Sportsman Modified Mid-Season Championship

Richie Simmons Garners Sportsman Modified Mid-Season Championship

For Immediate Release                                                                                                          BRS-070718-1

Dennis Preston Builders Mid-Season Championship Night found the action hot and heavy in the 99ROCK Weekly Racing Series with Double Points on the line making for another exciting evening of racing at Bear Ridge Speedway.

The Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds saw Ricky Sanvillle jump to the lead and maintain it through the halfway point when Richie Simmons took command and led the rest of the way to take the win. Kevin Chaffee took second from Sanville just a lap after Simmons took the lead and went on to finish second. Ricky Sanville was a solid third as the lead trio had quite a distance on fourth place finisher Mike Dunn. Current Points leader Robert Tucker was fifth.

While it was total domination by defending track Champion Brian Chaffee in the Wells River Chevrolet DIRTcar Sportsman Coupes the battles behind him were intense with the positions in the top five changing frequently. At the Checkers it was Brian Chaffee with the win. Melvin Pierson made a late race charge to finish second with Jason Colbeth third. Current Points leader Chris LaForest was fourth with Todd Heyward completing the top five.

The WYKR Sprint Cars of New England put on a show going caution free. Will Hull used the high side to rocket into the lead early in the race and went on to take the win. Matt Hoyt closed in on Hull a couple of times but never really got close enough to seriously challenge for the lead. Dennis McLeod ran third most of the race but a late race move netted Luke Greenwood third at the checkers. Jake Williams and Jordan Fornwalt rounded out the top five.

Ryan Christian continued his absolute dominance of the C.A. Miller Limited Late Models., taking the lead after a lap twelve restart and going on to take the victory unchallenged. Toby Stark hopped a ride in the Nutter #07 and finished second with Rookie George Osgood third. Kelly Miller and John Neddo completed the top five.

The Weglarz Property Services Four Cylinders proved to be a marathon affair with lots of cautions. Jesse Durkee took the lead from Buddy Welch h on lap eight and survived to take the win. Buddy Welch was second with Bobby Bell, who started last in the 21 car field was third. Rookies Garrett Brown and Cody Copeland completed the top five.

The Granite State Mini Sprints were also on hand with William Pinkham Sr rolling to Victory in the 500cc Feature and Zach Herbert taking a dominating win in the 600cc Main event.

Bear Ridge Speedway’s 51st consecutive Season of Racing continues Saturday, July 14th where the Granite State Mini Sprints will join all the 99ROCK Weekly Racing Series Divisions.

General admission for the 99Rock Weekly Racing Series is $10 for adults, $8 for teens, and seniors and $2 for children; Visa and MasterCard are accepted.  Racing begins at the famous “6:00-ish” Starting time.

Bear Ridge Speedway is as an alcohol-free family friendly entertainment spot, with our goal to make each experience at the Ridge better than the last. Remember “Dirt where every lap is the last lap” we continue to offer the best source of good, inexpensive high-quality entertainment for families.

Don’t forget you will be able to hear all the highlights from the week before and what is coming up every Friday morning from 6:30 to 7:00 on WYKR.

Bear Ridge Speedway is located off exit 16 of I91 on to Rte 25 west 1 mile to South Road up the hill to Kidder Rd. The green will wave every Saturday evening through September at 6:00 pm(ish). Be sure to check the web Questions can be sent to


Unofficial Results-Bear Ridge Speedway, Dennis Preston Builders Mid-Season Championship-July 7th 2018

Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds (40 Laps)

  1. Richie Simmons
  2. Kevin Chaffee
  3. Ricky Sanville
  4. Mike Dunn
  5. Robert Tucker
  6. Terry Williams
  7. Walter Hammond
  8. Walt Hammond
  9. Ryan Christian
  10. Tanner Siemons
  11. Jeremy Huntoon
  12. Todd Buckwold
  13. Mike Ryan
  14. Wayne Stearns
  15. Stephen Lary
  16. Tyler Farnham
  17. Matt Lashua

Wells River Chevrolet DIRTcar Sportsman Coupes (30 Laps)

  1. Brian Chaffee
  2. Melvin Pierson
  3. Jason Colbeth
  4. Chris LaForest
  5. Todd Heyward
  6. Matt Ellsworth
  7. Josh Harrington
  8. Tim Hodge
  9. Tanner Siemons
  10. Gene Pierson Jr
  11. Kevin Dickinson
  12. Bob Shepard
  13. Bob Kilburn
  14. Jason Horniak
  15. Earl Maxham
  16. Tad Kingsbury
  17. Dan Johnston

WYKR Sprint Cars of New England (30 Laps)

  1. Will Hull
  2. Matt Hoyt
  3. Luke Greenwood
  4. Jake Williams
  5. Jordan Fornwalt
  6. Kevin Chaffee
  7. Christine Boesch
  8. Dennis McLeod
  9. Ron Giroux
  10. Clay Dow
  11. Rick Stone
  12. Mike Kondrat-DNS

C.A. Miller Limited Late Models (20 Laps)

  1. Ryan Christian
  2. Toby Stark
  3. George Osgood
  4. Kelly Miller
  5. John Neddo
  6. Nicholas Longley

Weglarz Property Services 4 Cylinders (20 Laps)

  1. Jesse Durkee
  2. Buddy Welch
  3. Bobby Bell
  4. Garrett Brown
  5. Cody Copeland
  6. Dennis Perry
  7. David Durkee Jr
  8. Kelly Miller Jr
  9. Chase LaFoe
  10. Richard Stockwell
  11. Matt Boucher
  12. Jason Porter
  13. Danny Doyle
  14. James Shuefelt
  15. Zachary Audet
  16. Robert Audet
  17. Kevin LaForest
  18. Daniel Mears
  19. Mike Sherburne
  20. Peter Burt
  21. Deven Stearns


Contact: April May Preston                                                                   

Phone: (802)-222-4052

April May Preston

Bear Ridge Speedway


check out my favorite non profits