Penny Davis Crate Motor Nationals Press

Penny Davis Crate Motor Nationals Press

Adam Pierson grabs the win in the DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds and the Championship
Brian Chaffee wins in the DIRTcar Sportsman Coupes

For Immediate Release BRS-091915-1

BRADFORD, VT – No rainouts for 2015 in the record books after the running of the Penny Davis Crate Motor Nationals the 22nd event of the season.
Adam Pierson left his mark claiming the final feature win in 2015 and the points crown in the DIRTcar Bond Auto Parts Sportsman Modifieds with his strong performance in the 100 lap main event of the Penny Davis Crate Motor Nationals. Josh Currier thru virtue of an invert from time trials started on the pole and lead 86 of the 100 laps before succumbing to Pierson. On lap 87 Pierson took over the lead and went on to claim the win. Derek Graham was able to work by Currier as well as last week’s feature winner Jordan Fornwalt to grab the final two victory lane spots. Currier was able to hold on to fourth with Josh Sunn completing the top five.
In the first ever and very well received Bear Ridge Growler eight of the eleven different feature winners were on hand to compete in the 30 lap shoot out. With a couple of twists the field was set by how the drivers drew for pit stalls created in the infield. Richie Simmons grabbed the point and led the first 15 lap segment. On lap 15 the yellow waved for a mandatory pit stop in the infield. Crews (2 people per car) were waiting with jack and tire in hand. When all drivers were safely stopped the horn blew and the crews raced to their car to change one tire. The fans were seen standing and cheering fro their favorite driver and crew. The second 15 lap segment was lined up based on how you returned to the track, and it would be Josh Sunn’s crew with the right stuff, getting him out first ahead of Adam Pierson and Kevin Chaffee. That is how the three would cross the line at the checkers giving Sunn an extra $500.00 for his efforts. Car owner Gary Corsi was very happy indeed. Richie Simmons crossed the line fourth with Jordan Fornwalt in fifth. Robert Tucker, Ryan Christian, and Mike Dunn completed the field.
The DIRTcar Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupes got to go 60 laps for the Penny Davis Crate Motor Nationals, and Brian Chaffee would be the lucky one for the invert from time trials, giving him the pole position. Chaffee held off the 2015 track champion Bob Shepard for the win with his dominate performance leading every lap of the event. Shepard having already won the war was okay with loosing this battle crossing the line in second. Thomas Placey finished third with Tim Hodge and Melvin Pierson completing the top five.
Pierson dominate in the DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds was also dominate in the USAC DMA Midgets as he is crowned the champ in this division as well. Pierson set fast time but thru the invert started mid pack with team mate Josh Sunn right by him. Sunn was able to hold off Pierson to claim the win with Pierson coming home in second and Derek Graham grabbing the final victory lane spot. Mike Chaffee and Dean Christensen rounded out the top five.
Even though once James Fadden showed up he had the championship title, it is all about the win, and he grabbed his sixth of the season to add a little extra frosting to the cake. Tim Martin came home in second with Matt Lashua in third.
As with Pierson in the Mods and Fadden in the Late Models, even though the champ was declared before the event by showing up, every driver is there to win one more, and that is just what rookie Justin Severance did, as he grabbed the win in the 20 lap event for the Weglarz Property service Four Cylinders. He is also the rookie of the year as this is based on points finish and you can’t get any higher than champ! Jesse Durkee and Jacob Roy would join him in victory lane with Matt Voucher and Robert Welch completing the top five.
The final event to hit the track for the 2015 season was the 4/6 cylinder endure. Three endures were held this season with the car count growing each time. The field would hit the track three wide to start the 100 lap event. A couple of reds slowed the pace giving time for those with the endurance to make their way to the front. With only a handful of laps to go the leader was out of gas, the second place guy was up against the outside wall, and Chad Martin was making his way to the front. When the checkers waved Chad Martin crossed the line first with Michael Labounty in second and Kevin Boucher in third. Troy Randall and Joel Smith finished the top five.
This concludes the Bear Ridge Speedway’s 48th season of stock car racing. Up next will be the annual awards banquet held on December 19, 2015 at the Lake Morey Inn. Tickets are sell fast so be sure to get yours in today.
Racing action will resume on May 7th, 2016 when we kick off our 49th consecutive racing season. Visa and MasterCard are accepted.
We thank you all for your support over the past 48 years and look forward to spending our summers with you over the next.
Bear Ridge Speedway is located on Kidder Road in Bradford, VT, just off Exit 16 on Interstate 91. For more information, call (802) 222-4052 or visit

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS – Penny Davis Crate Motor Nationals night
99ROCK Weekly Racing Series
Bear Ridge Speedway — Bradford, VT
Saturday, September 26, 2015

Bond Auto DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Feature (100 laps)
1st 15 Adam Pierson
2nd 10 Derek Graham
3rd 24 Jordan Fornwalt
4th 42c Josh Currier
5th 11 Josh Sunn
6th 73 Kevin Chaffee
7th 34 Richie Simmons
8th 42T Robert Tucker
9th o1 Terry Williams
10th 2 Tim Hodge
11th 20 Chris Chambers
12th 10s Ryan Christian
13th 40 Steven Flint®
14th 9 Michael Dunn
15th 4 DJ Robinson
16th 1m Martin Mastic
17th 14 Tim Williams
18th 12c Jamie Ferland®
19th 32 Wayne Stearns
20th 18 Matt Lashua

Bear Ridge Growler
1st 11 Josh Sunn
2nd 15 Adam Pierson
3rd 73 Kevin Chaffee
4th 34 Richie Simmons
5th 24 Jordan Fornwalt
6th 42T Robert Tucker
7th 10s Ryan Christian
8th 9 Mike Dunn

Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupe Feature (60 laps)
1st 16 Brian Chaffee
2nd 28 Bob Shepard
3rd 22 Thomas Placey
4th 2 Tim Hodge
5th 33 Melvin Pierson
6th 43 Earl Maxham
7th 3 Jason Horniak
8th 44 Michael Danforth
9th 71 Josh Harrington
10th 5 Jonathan Covey
11th 13 Buster Kathan
12th 78 Stan Otterman
13th 18 Jason Colbeth
14th 8 Gene Pierson
15th 24 Jeremy Beckley
16th 56 Chris LaForest
DNS 21 Matt Ellsworth

USAC DMA Midgets Feature (25 laps)
1 67 Josh Sunn
2 76 Adam Pierson
3 5 Derek Graham
4 18c Mike Chaffee
5 69 Dean Christensen
6 17 Robert Tucker
7 1W Ray Miller
8 4 Kevin Chaffee
9 12 Adam Whitney
10 33 Tim Gallant
11 15 Jeff Champagne
12 10 Rick Stone
13 21 Barry Kittredge
14 9 David Moniz
15 1R Jeff Horn
16 64 Andy Barrows
17 11 Alex Rose
18 42 Manny Dias

Crazy Ed’s Limited Late Model Feature (20 laps) top 3
1st 91 James Fadden
2nd 83 Tim Martin ®
3rd 18 Donny Lashua

Weglarz Property Management 4-Cylinder Feature (20 laps) top 10
1st 4J Justin Severance ®
2nd 88 Jesse Durkee
3rd 11vt Jacob Roy
4th 71 Matt Boucher
5th 65 Robert Welch ®
6th 8 Sean Perron
7th 78 Tim St John
8th 27 Emily Moore
9th 11 Kaitlyn Coates
10th 86 Mike Ryan
Contact: April May Preston Email:
Phone: (802) 222-4052