Matt Lashua tops the Sportsman Modifieds, Tanner Siemons best in the Coupes

Matt Lashua tops the Sportsman Modifieds, Tanner Siemons best in the Coupes

 For Immediate Release                                                                                                                                                                      BRS-081818-01

Sabil & Sons old timers night is always a reflective evening as the stars of yesteryear from various tracks are honored at intermission and with lots of old racecars also on hand it brings back lots of memories before kicking off the feature events for the evening. It was also announced that Bear Ridge Speedway Owner/Promoter CV “Butch” Elms will be inducted into the New England Antique Races (NEAR) Hall of Fame later this year.

Matt Lashua took his second win of the season in the Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds in an exciting feature that saw the action punctuated by only a couple of cautions along the way. For the third consecutive week Mike Ryan jumped to an early lead only to be tracked down by Mike Dunn who claimed the top spot with eighteen laps complete. By lap 24 Matt Lashua was up to third and claimed second on lap 25 and used the topside to take lead on lap 26, bringing Derek Graham along with him to second. The top two remained the same for the duration of the event with a tremendous battle for third between Dunn and Jordan Fornwalt. At the checkers it was Matt Lashua taking the victory with Derek Graham second, Mike Dunn third, Jordan Fornwalt fourth and Richie Simmons fifth.

The Wells River Chevrolet DIRTcar Sportsman Coupes found Bob Kilburn take the top spot at the drop of the green with Kevin Dickinson second. Tanner Siemons and Matt Ellsworth had a prolonged battle for third with Siemons eventually taking it and then moving to the runner-up spot just past the halfway point. Siemons then set his sights on leader Kilburn and completed the pass for the lead four laps later. From there Tanner Siemons steadily pulled away to take the win. Bob Kilburn was second with Jason Horniak third. Kevin Dickinson and Jason Colbeth completed the top five.

The WYKR Sprint Cars of New England saw veteran Mike Knodrat surge to the front when the green flag flew, eventually building a rather large lead on second place runner Jake Williams. Late race lapped traffic slowed Kondrat down however and by the time there was three laps to go Williams was challenging for the lead. As the duo crossed the line under the white flag they were nearly even with Jake Williams using the topside to take the lead and the win, only leading the lap that counted the last one. Mike Kondrat finished a season best second with Luke Greenwood third. Dan Douville and Will Hull Rounded out the top five.

For only the second time this season Ryan Christian Did not win the C.A. Miller Limited Late Model Feature. Kelly Miller Sr. led the first half of the nonstop event before John Neddo assumed the top spot after a lengthy battle with Miller Sr. From there it was all John Neddo as he went on to take the impressive win. A late race battle with Miller Sr. netted Ryan Christian second with Kelly Miller Sr third. Walter Hammond and Matt Lashua completed the top five.

The Weglarz Property Service Four Cylinder feature was action packed with lots of three wide racing near the front of the field after a first lap caution involved at least a half of dozen cars. Rookie Cody Copeland led early before Jason Porter took the top spot. His lead only lasted a lap before he headed pit side with a flat tire, giving the lead back to Copeland. Two laps later Rookie Owen Carbee took the top spot and led until Buddy Welch claimed it with five laps to go. At the checkers it was Buddy Welch with the win and Owen Carbee second. A last Lap pass netted Jesse Durkee third with Bobby Bell fourth and Cody Copeland fifth.

Bear Ridge Speedway’s 51st season of dirt car racing continues Saturday, August 25th with Dead River Co. Night. Joining our regular 99Rock weekly racing series which consists of the Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds, Wells River Chevrolet DIRTcar Sportsman Coupes, C.A. Miller Inc Limited Late Models and the Weglarz Property Service Four Cylinders will be the ?Granite State Mini Sprints. General Admission for the 99Rock Weekly Racing Series is $10 for adults (ages 18-61), $8 for Teens and Seniors (12-17 and 62+) and $2 for children; Visa and MasterCard are accepted. Racing begins at the famous “6:00-ish” start time.

Bear Ridge Speedway is as an alcohol-free family friendly entertainment spot, with our goal to make each experience at the Ridge better than the last. Remember “Dirt where every lap is the last lap” we continue to offer the best source of good inexpensive high-quality entertainment for families.

Bear Ridge Speedway is located off exit 16 of I91 on to Rte 25 west 1 mile to South Road up the hill to Kidder Rd. The green will wave every Saturday at 6:00 pm(ish). Be sure to check the web Questions can be sent to

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS – 51st Season of Racing-Sabil & Sons old Timers Night

99ROCK Weekly Racing Series

Bear Ridge Speedway — Bradford, VT

Saturday, August 18, 2018


Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds (40 Laps)

  1. Matt Lashua
  2. Derek Graham
  3. Mike Dunn
  4. Jordan Fornwalt
  5. Richie Simmons
  6. Todd Buckwold
  7. Robert Tucker
  8. Kevin Chaffee
  9. Ryan Christian
  10. Terry Williams
  11. DJ Robinson
  12. Tanner Siemons
  13. Stephen Flint
  14. Jeremy Huntoon
  15. Mike Ryan
  16. Tyler Farnham
  17. Stephen Lary
  18. David Kendall


Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupe Feature (30 Laps)

  1. Tanner Siemons
  2. Bob Kilburn
  3. Jason Horniak
  4. Kevin Dickinson
  5. Jason Colbeth
  6. Earl Maxham
  7. Josh Harrington
  8. Melvin Pierson
  9. Tad Kingsbury
  10. Todd Heyward
  11. Matt Ellsworth
  12. Bob Shepard
  13. Brian Chaffee
  14. Gene Pierson Jr
  15. Chris LaForest
  16. Mike Stender
  17. Dan Johnston


WYKR Sprint Cars of New England Feature (25 Laps)

  1. Jake Williams
  2. Mike Kondrat
  3. Luke Greenwood
  4. Dan Douville
  5. Will Hull
  6. Lacey Hanson
  7. Jordan Fornwalt
  8. Dennis McLeod
  9. Troy Comeau
  10. Christine Boesch
  11. Matt Hoyt


C.A. Miller Limited Late Model Feature (20 Laps)

  1. John Neddo
  2. Ryan Christian
  3. Kelly Miller Sr.
  4. Walter Hammond
  5. Matt Lashua
  6. Derek Stearns
  7. George Osgood
  8. Jesse Dunham-DNS



Weglarz Property Management 4-Cylinder Feature (20 laps)

  1. Buddy Welch
  2. Owen Carbee
  3. Jesse Durkee
  4. Bobby Bell
  5. Cody Copeland
  6. Kelly Miller Jr
  7. Danny Doyle
  8. Garrett Brown
  9. Charlie Lakin
  10. Peter Burt
  11. Deven Stearns
  12. Zach Audet
  13. Robert Audet
  14. Richard Longley
  15. Richard Stockwell
  16. Jason Porter
  17. Brett Fifield
  18. Kevin Laforest-DNS






Contact: April May Preston                                                                             Email:

Phone: (802) 222-4052