Kevin Chaffee Victorious in the Sportsman Modifieds, Bob Kilburn Dominates the Coupes

Kevin Chaffee Victorious in the Sportsman Modifieds, Bob Kilburn Dominates the Coupes

For Immediate Release                                                                                                                                                                      BRS-082518-01

Dead River Co. night at Bear Ridge Speedway was an action packed evening with lots of great racing. It was also kids pit tour night and the youngsters had a great time collecting driver cards, trophies, candy and more from the competitors making for another memorable night for the children.

Kevin Chaffee took his third win of the season in the Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds in an action packed feature. When the green flag flew Mike Dunn powered to the front, handily taking the lead. Dunn would hold the top spot through a couple of cautions and led just over three quarters of the race before Kevin Chaffee used the low line to take the lead after challenging for it numerous times. A caution with just four laps remaining proved to be no problem for Chaffee, who went on to take the win. The same cannot be said for Dunn though, as on the restart Richie Simmons took second with Tanner Siemons and Robert Tucker also getting by the fading Dunn before the checkers. Kevin Chaffee took the win followed by Richie Simmons, Tanner Siemons, Robert Tucker and Mike Dunn.

The Wells River Chevrolet DIRTcar Sportsman Coupes found Bob Kilburn take the top spot at the drop of the green with Earl Maxham second. Whike Kilburn was motoring away to a sizeable lead Jason Colbeth worked his way to the runner-up spot and started to reel in leader Kilburn. By the halfway point Colbeth arrived on Kilburn’s bumper and started to mount a challenge for the lead, pulling even with him just before the caution flew for an incident involving Tanner Siemons and Kevin Dickinson. When racing resumed Bob Kilburn once again took the lead and held off the repeated challenges of Colbeth to take the win. For Bob Kilburn it was his first career win and he was congratulated by nearly half of the drivers in the field in victory lane. Jason Colbeth finished second with Josh Harrington, Josh Horniak and Earl Maxham completing the top five.

The Laquerre’s Sports USAC Dirt Midgets put on their usual good show with Adam Whitney leading early. Joe Krawiec then held the top spot for a couple of laps before Seth Carlson zoomed by on the high side to take the lead. For a period of time it looked like Carlson was going to run to victory but Will Hull slowly started to gain on him and finally took the lead with just three laps to go. Carlson’s fine run ended a lap later when he spun off turn two, causing the only caution of the race. When racing resumed Will Hull ran to the win, his sixth of the season. Adam Whitney was second with Joe Krawiec third, Jeff Horn fourth and Derek O’Hearn fifth.

Ryan Christian returned to his winning ways in the C.A. Miller Co. Limited Late Models. This was a Twin State Series race that saw Kelly Miller Sr. lead better than half the race before Ryan Christian took the top spot and went on to the win. John Neddo made some late race moves to finish second with Walt Hammond third. Toby Stark and George Osgood rounded out the top five.

After a lap one first turn jingle that caused the yellow to fly the Weglarz Property Service Four Cylinder feature went caution free the rest of the way with Kelly Miller Jr. taking the top spot from his fourth starting position before a single lap was complete. Miller Jr. built a substantial lead but once Jason Porter moved to second he started to close the gap on Miller Jr. By the time the flagman gave the five laps to go indicator Miller Jr was in heavy lapped traffic which allowed the already closing Porter to challenge for the lead. He could not complete the pass however and at the checkers it was Kelly Miller Jr with the win. Jason Porter was second. Buddy Welch crossed the line third but was later penalized for a post race procedure violation. This moved Owen Carbee to third with Jesse Durkee fourth and Cody Copeland fifth.

The Granite State Mini Sprints were also on hand with Eric Relation taking the win in the 500cc class and Kyle Belliveau absolutely dominating the 600cc class for the win.

Bear Ridge Speedway’s 51st season of dirt car racing continues Saturday, September 1st with Valley Floors-Racing Against Cancer Benefit Night. Joining our regular 99Rock weekly racing series which consists of the Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds, Wells River Chevrolet DIRTcar Sportsman Coupes, C.A. Miller Inc Limited Late Models and the Weglarz Property Service Four Cylinders will be the Sprint Cars of New England. Special Admission for the 99Rock Weekly Racing Series is $13 for adults (ages 18-61) and $2 for children; Visa and MasterCard are accepted. Racing begins at the famous “6:00-ish” start time.

Bear Ridge Speedway is as an alcohol-free family friendly entertainment spot, with our goal to make each experience at the Ridge better than the last. Remember “Dirt where every lap is the last lap” we continue to offer the best source of good inexpensive high-quality entertainment for families.

Bear Ridge Speedway is located off exit 16 of I91 on to Rte 25 west 1 mile to South Road up the hill to Kidder Rd. The green will wave every Saturday at 6:00 pm(ish). Be sure to check the web Questions can be sent to

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS – 51st Season of Racing-Dead River Co. Night

99ROCK Weekly Racing Series

Bear Ridge Speedway — Bradford, VT

Saturday, August 25, 2018


Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds (40 Laps)

  1. Kevin Chaffee
  2. Richie Simmons
  3. Tanner Siemons
  4. Robert Tucker
  5. Mike Dunn
  6. Adam Pierson
  7. Ryan Christian
  8. Terry Williams
  9. Jordan Fornwalt
  10. Jeremy Huntoon
  11. Matt Lashua
  12. Mike Ryan
  13. Todd Buckwold
  14. Walter Hammond
  15. Stephen Flint
  16. Trevor Randlett
  17. David Kendall
  18. Chris Clark
  19. Stephen Lary


Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupe Feature (30 Laps)

  1. Bob Kilburn
  2. Jason Colbeth
  3. Josh Harrington
  4. Josh Horniak
  5. Earl Maxham
  6. Matt Ellsworth
  7. Todd Heyward
  8. Chris LaForest
  9. Melvin Pierson
  10. Tad Kingsbury
  11. Gene Pierson Jr
  12. Tim Hodge
  13. Tanner Siemons
  14. Kevin Dickinson
  15. Brian Chaffee
  16. Dan Johnston


Laquerre’s Sports USAC Dirt Midget Feature (25 Laps)

  1. Will Hull
  2. Adam Whitney
  3. Joe Krawiec
  4. Jeff Horn
  5. Derek O’Hearn
  6. Justin Phillips
  7. Jason Goff
  8. David Moniz
  9. Josh Harrington
  10. Brandon Emerson
  11. Seth Carlson-penalized for post race procedural violation
  12. Bobby White-DNS


C.A. Miller Limited Late Model Feature (20 Laps)

  1. Ryan Christian
  2. John Neddo
  3. Walt Hammond
  4. Toby Stark
  5. George Osgood
  6. Matt Pike
  7. Travis Smith
  8. Nicholas Longlely
  9. Todd Dunham
  10. Kelly Miller Sr
  11. Tim Martin-penalized for post race procedural violation



Weglarz Property Management 4-Cylinder Feature (20 laps)

  1. Kelly Miller Jr
  2. Jason Porter
  3. Owen Carbee
  4. Jesse Durkee
  5. Cody Copeland
  6. Kevin LaForest
  7. Danny Doyle
  8. Robert Audet
  9. Bobby Bell
  10. Garrett Brown
  11. Peter Burt
  12. Zach Audet
  13. Chase LaFoe
  14. Richard Longley
  15. Ryan French
  16. Richard Stockwell
  17. Brett Fifield
  18. Chris Cole
  19. Buddy Welch-Penalized for post race procedural violation
  20. Don Reynolds-DNS




Contact: April May Preston                                                                             Email:

Phone: (802) 222-4052