July 18th Press

July 18th Press

Brian Chaffee grabs his second win in the DIRTcar Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupes Kenny Schrader makes in to the top ten in the USAC DMA Midgets


For Immediate Release                                                                                                                                                                     BRS-071815-1


BRADFORD, VT – The Granite State Mini Sprints were on hand as well as the USAC DMA Midgets which meant a full house and a lot of racing action for the fans. Midseason Championship double points Shirley & Mickey Bruleigh Memorial night afforded a packed house plenty of racing excitement with competitors duking it out for the top points. For the 500 mini sprints Tom Chaffee grabbed the win with Shawn King in second and Matt Hoyt in third. It was Richard Crooker in the 600 mini sprints for the win with Tim Beard taking second and Kyle Belliveau in third.

In the DIRTcar Bond Auto Parts Josh Sunn is the eighth different winner of the year. The field was led to the green by rookie Jamie Ferland who held on to the point for six laps showing that he is getting better weekly. Ryan Christian took over the point on lap seven holding on until lap seventeen. A restart put Sunn in the second place position and before the end of that lap he had taken over the lead and from there it was all Sunn with the battle being fought for the final two victory lane spots. Robert Tucker and Kevin Chaffee would bet be the two to get there first crossing the line in that order ahead of Adam Pierson and Derek Graham who completed the top five.

Brian Chaffee finally got the monkey off his back coming from mid pack in the DIRTcar Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupes to claim his first win of the season. Jason Horniak hooked on to his bumper for the ride and the two of them got by the point sitter Todd Hayward, Chaffee on lap twenty three and Horniak on lap twenty nine. Earl “the Squirrel” Maxham crossed the line fourth with Michael Danforth completing the top five.

Kenny Schrader back in the Bobby Seymour 29 machine of the USAC DMA Midgets put on a whale of a show for the fans. With no handicap at the Ridge, even famous people have to start in the rear. Schrader made his way to second in his heat race falling one spot short to Mike Chaffee with one of his best runs this season. In the feature Schrader ran out of time having to settle for a sixth place finish. The #76 Manafort machine of Adam Pierson was once again the one to make it to the front to take the checkers. Scott Holcomb appears to have gotten the kinks worked out of his machine as has Ray Miller. Both drivers were able to make it to victory lane finishing second and third respectfully. Derek Graham and Jeffrey Champaign rounded out the top five. Ray Miller grabbed the Elliott Dash win.

It was madness night for the Crazy Ed’s Limited Late Models and with forty laps sponsored the competitors geared up for two twenty lap features. Matt Lashua was the dominate one in segment one leading all twenty laps with Tim Martin right on his bumper. The second segment was the same image but reversed with Martin on the point and Lashua right behind. With the two tied in overall points the tie is broken by the final segment finish. This gave Martin the win overall with Lashua in second. Ryan Ovitt was scored third overall with Travis Smith and James Fadden completing the top five.

It was all eights in the Weglarz Property Service/F.M.S. Auto Parts Four Cylinders with Sean Perron in the 8 bringing the field to the green to start the race and holding the point for six laps on lap seven Jesse Durkee took over the point in the 88 and cruised on for his third win of the season. Perron fell back to third, as Justin Severance got by him late to take the second place spot. Rookie Buddy Welch came hope in fourth with Matt Boucher completing the top five.

Bear Ridge Speedway’s 48th season of stock car racing continues on Saturday, July 25th with a full card of racing plus the return of the Sprint Cars of New England and our second 4/6 cylinder enduro. Special admission pricing applies for the 99Rock Weekly Racing Series at $13 for adults (age 18-61), $10 for teens (12-17) and seniors (62+), and $2 for children; Visa and MasterCard are accepted. Racing begins at the famous “6:00-ish” start time.

Bear Ridge Speedway is located on Kidder Road in Bradford, VT, just off Exit 16 on Interstate 91. For more information, call (802) 222-4052 or visit www.bearridgespeedway.com.


UNOFFICIAL RESULTS – Celebrity Media One night

99ROCK Weekly Racing Series

Bear Ridge Speedway — Bradford, VT

Saturday, July 18th, 2015


Bond Auto DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Feature (40 laps)

Car#    Driver

1st       11        Josh Sunn

2nd      42T      Robert Tucker

3rd       73        Kevin Chaffee

4th       15        Adam Pierson

5th       10        Derek Graham

6th       24        Jordan Fornwalt

7th       91        Tim Tucker

8th       10s      Ryan Christian

9th       1x        TC Forward

10th     o1        Mike Gendron

11th     5          Gary Siemons

12th     9          Michael Dunn

13th     42c      Josh Currier

14th     36        Lacey Hanson

15th     40        Steven Flint®

16th     88        Thomas Kimball

17th     34        Richie Simmons

18th     12c      Jamie Ferland®

19th     4          DJ Robinson

20th     20        Chris Chambers

21st     12        Steve Bell®
Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupe Feature (30 laps)


1st       16/77   Brian Chaffee

2nd      3          Jason Horniak

3rd       17        Todd Hayward®

4th       43        Earl Maxham

5th       44        Michael Danforth

6th       24        Jeremy Beckley

7th       18        Jason Colbeth

8th       71        Josh Harrington

9th       11        Martin Mastic

10th     8          Gene Pierson

11th     13        Buster Kathan

12th     33        Melvin Pierson

13th     14        Mitchell Frost

14th     5          Jonathon Covey®

15th     22        Thomas Placey

16th     28        Bob Shepard

17th     21e      Matt Ellsworth


USAC DMA Midgets Feature (25 laps)

1          76        Adam Pierson

2          47        Scott Holcomb

3          1W       Ray Miller

4          5          Derek Graham

5          15        Jeff Champagne

6          29        Kenny Schrader

7          67        Josh Sunn

8          12        Adam Whitney

9          46        Kenney Johnson

10        18c      Mike Chaffee

11        17        Chris Donnelly

12        69        Dean Christensen

13        1R       Jeff Horn

14        11        Alex Rose

15        27        Lauryn Burd

16        4          Kevin Chaffee

17        21        Barry Kittredge

18        96        Rob Williams

DNS    57        Dylan Duhaime

DNS    33        Tim Gallant


Crazy Ed’s Limited Late Model Feature (Madness two 20 lap features)

Segment One Feature winner 18 Matt Lashua

Segment Two Feature winner 83 Tim Martin

1st       83        Tim      Martin ®

2nd      18        Matt     Lashua

3rd       77        Ryan   Ovitt

4th       5T        Travis  Smith

5th       91        James Fadden

6th       91x      Doug   Boucher

7th       66        Eric      Lang

8th       3          David   Stearns

9th       24        Bobby Bell


Weglarz Property Management/F.M.S. Auto Parts 4-Cylinder Feature (20 laps)


1st       88        Jesse   Durkee

2nd      4J        Justin   Severance ®

3rd       8          Sean    Perron

4th       65        Robert Welch ®

5th       61        Matt     Boucher

6th       3          Charlie Lakin

7th       11vt     Jacob Roy

8th       2          Devin   Stearns

9th       86        Mike    Ryan

10th     29        Justin   Carbee




Contact: April May Preston                                                                                                                                                                Email: brsdirt@charter.net

Phone: (802) 222-4052