John Poor Memorial Walker Motor Sales night 8/6 Press

John Poor Memorial Walker Motor Sales night 8/6 Press

Ryan Christian gets his first win in the DIRTcar Sabil & Sons Sportsman Modifieds
Michael Danforth overall winner in the DIRTcar Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupes

For Immediate Release BRS-080616-1

BRADFORD, VT – With August already in swing, and the dog days of summer yet to come, you can still find plenty of racing action at the Ridge. This Saturday August 6 was no exception as the John Poor Memorial was recorded in the record books sponsored by Walker Motor Sales. The regular weekly racing divisions plus the Granite State Mini Sprints offered the full house plenty of excitement.
The DIRTcar Sabil & Sons Sportsman Modifieds took to the track with Steve Flint and Thomas Kimball bringing the field to the green. Mechanical problems for Flint took him out of the event and the restart on lap three put Trever Rocke on point. Rocke the first half of the event while Ryan Christian and Derek Graham worked their way to the front. Christian took the lead from Rocke on lap twenty three the final caution waived on lap twenty seven with the restart having Derek Graham coming from the eighteenth starting spot on the grid on the outside of Rocke . Graham got the jump on Rocke and set his sights on Christian as the laps ticketed down. The two would battle it out over the final ten laps with Graham getting by for the lead for one lap. But Christian was not prepared to settle for second getting back by Graham on the next lap, holding on for the win, his first of the season, and the fifth different driver in 2016. Graham took home second and Rocke was able to hold on for third, his first victory lane visit. DJ Robinson and Josh Sunn completed the top five.
It was madness night for the DIRTcar Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupes and with over $5,500 in lap and purse money it was madness on the track. The drivers would have three 25 lap segments to claim as much of the cash as possible before nights end. Thomas Placey earned the point of the first segment by bringing in the most laps and he was able to hold on to the big money maker spot for the whole event. Not only did he hold on to the point he did it, in a green to checkers segment, the first time this season the coupes have gone green to checkers. Unfortunately because this was madness night and the feature is three parts the Brass Ring challenge is not eligible to a segment winner, and will be up for grabs again next week at $650.00. Bob Shepard held on to second place until lap 23 when his car went away from him and he fell back. Jason Colbeth and Jason Horniak would cross the line behind Placey in those spots with Melvin Pierson and Chris LaForest in fourth and fifth. Segment two inverted from segment one gave Tyler Maxham and Todd Hayward front row honors for the start with Hayward getting the spot away from Maxham before the first laps end. Hayward held on to first until the red was waived when Buster Kathan was found on his side on the back stretch. The thirteen was righted, Kathan walked to the ambulance for observation and racing resumed. Earl Maxham driving the #2 of Tim Hodge had been working his way to the front and on the restart got the jump on Hayward. Maxham went on to win segment two with Hayward holding on to second with Matt Ellsworth coming home in third. The Jason’s swapped their finishing order from segment one with Jason Horniak coming home in fourth and Jason Colbeth coming home in fifth. The third segment once again an invert from the last Thomas Placey and Tyler Maxham the front row. Placey took the lead and held on for the first ten laps, until Michael Danforth worked his way by. Danforth led the rest of the 25 circuits with Placey on his tail. Josh Harrington crossed the line in third with Brian Chaffee and Chris LaForest coming home in fourth and fifth.
Overall points were calculated and the top five for the night were Michael Danforth Jason Horniak and Matt Ellsworth, along with Jason Colbeth Thomas Placey.
The Laquerre Sports USAC DMA Midgets will return August 13th for their bi-weekly racing action.
A new winner is crowned in the Mike Rivers Automotive Limited Late Models as Will Hull behind the wheel of the fifteen of John Neddo proves to be the fittest in the survival of. He takes the win over Tim Martin who came home in second and Derrek Stearns in third. Don Reynolds and Wayland Childs completed the top five.
Charlie Lakin started on the pole in the Weglarz Property Service Four Cylinders and was able to hold on to a victory lane spot taking home the third place spot. Danny Doyle and Mike Ryan would be the two to get by him for first and second. This makes it Doyle’s fourth win of the season. Coming home in fourth and fifth were Jonathan Baker and Jim Durkee.
Bear Ridge Speedway’s 49th season of stock car racing continues on Saturday, August 13th with our Bradford Bull Dogs Benefit Night sponsored by Swenson Insurance Co. The full card of racing features the Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds, Wells River Chevrolet DIRTcar Sportsman Coupes, Laquerre’s Sports USAC DMA Midgets, Mike Rivers Automotive Limited Late Models, and the Weglarz Property Service Four Cylinders. Plus the Granite State Mini Sprints and kids rides. General admission pricing applies: $10.00 adults; $8.00 teens & seniors, and $2 for children; Visa and MasterCard are accepted. Racing begins at the famous “6:00-ish” start time.
Bear Ridge Speedway is located on Kidder Road in Bradford, VT, just off Exit 16 on Interstate 91. For more information, call (802) 222-4052 or visit

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS – Walker Motors Sales Night
99ROCK Weekly Racing Series
Bear Ridge Speedway — Bradford, VT
Saturday, August 6, 2016

Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Feature (40 Laps)
1st 10s Ryan Christian
2nd 10 Derek Graham
3rd 63 Trever Rocke ®
4th 4 DJ Robinson
5th 11 Josh Sunn
6th 42c Josh Currier
7th 1x TC Forward
8th 18 Matt Lashua ®
9th 42T Robert Tucker
10th 91nh James Fadden ®
11th 631 Todd Buckwold ®
12th 97 Terry Williams ®
13th 91 Tim Tucker
14th 20vt Chris Chambers
15th 70 Lenny Pillsbury ®
16th 9 Michael Dunn
17th F82 Thomas Kimball
18th 87 Todd Fenoff
19th 5 Gary Siemons
20th 40 Steven Flint
Heat race one winner: Thomas Kimball
Heat race two winner: Josh Currier
Heat race three winner:

Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupe Feature (Madness night 3 twenty lap segments)
Segment one winner: Thomas Placey
Segment two winner: Earl Maxham
Segment three winner: Michael Danforth
1 44 Michael Danforth
2 3 Jason Horniak
3 21e Matt Ellsworth
4 18 Jason Colbeth
5 22 Thomas Placey
6 71 Josh Harrington
7 56 Chris LaForest ®
8 43 Earl Maxham
9 16 Brian Chaffee
10 17 Todd Hayward
11 78 Stan Otterman
12 13 Buster Kathan
13 33 Melvin Pierson
14 28 Bob Shepard
15 5c Jonathon Covey
16 42 Tyler Maxham ®
Heat winners:
Heat one:
Heat two:

Laquerre’s Sports USAC DMA Midgets Feature (20 laps)
Return 8/13
Heat Winners:
Heat one:
Heat two:
Elliott Beverage Dash winner:

Mike Rivers Automotive Limited Late Model Feature (20 Laps)
1st 15 Will Hull
2nd 83 Tim Martin
3rd 3 Derrick Stearns
4th 87 Don Reynolds
5th O2 Wayland Childs ®
6th o5 Chad Martin
7th 11 TJ Morse®
8th 4 Cary Moulton

Weglarz Property Management 4-Cylinder Feature (20 laps)
1st o2 Danny Doyle
2nd 86 Mike Ryan
3rd 3 Charlie Lakin
4th 22 Jonathon Baker
5th 9 Jim Durkee
6th 65 Robert Welch
7th 88 Jesse Durkee
8th 24 Bobby Bell
9th 2 Josh Martin
10th 49 Kevin Laforest ®
11th 17 Shane Stygles
12th 29j Justin Stockman
13th 28 Derrek Durkee
14th 83 Mike Sherburne

Blackmount Equipment Semi Feature winner:

Contact: April May Preston Email:
Phone: (802) 222-4052