Interstate Battery of Newmont & JTB Towing & Recovery 7/23 press

Interstate Battery of Newmont & JTB Towing & Recovery 7/23 press

Rookie Chris LaForest grabs the win in the DIRTcar Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupes
Josh Sunn gets his second win in the DIRTcar Sabil & Sons Sportsman Modifieds

For Immediate Release BRS-072316-1

BRADFORD, VT – No Rain, or wind or thunder, or lack of power will stop the Promotors at Bear Ridge Speedway from doing everything they can to get in the show. When the rain storm subsided the track prep began, and racing started with a feature only format. When it was thought the night would end early due to no power the lights came back on and racing continued, with perfect track conditions and a super-fast track.
Josh Sunn stole the win away from Gary Siemons on the white flag lap preventing there from being a Father Son celebration at the Siemons home. A late race caution saw a new front line with Robert Tucker and Gary Siemons doing battle for the top spot. Siemons would get by Tucker after seven laps and looked poised to be heading to his first win of the season, but Sunn coming from deep in the pack had other ideas. As the white flag waved on the field Sunn got by Siemons for the lead, leaving Siemons to cross the line in second with Tucker falling back to third. Ryan Christian and DJ Robinson rounded out the top five.
The Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupes crowned another new winner, this week a rookie. It took the field awhile to get the yellow out of their eyes and during this time Chris LaForest was able to move to the from to take the lead on a restart on lap five. From there LaForest survived a couple of more restarts holding on to the point for the remainder of the race. LaForest secured his first win of the season in the Coupes with Michael Danforth taking home second and Todd Hayward coming home in third. The Jasons Horniak and Colbeth completed the top five in that order.
The Laquerre Sports USAC DMA Midgets were off and will return for action this week July 30th.
It was madness night for the Mike Rivers Automotive Limited Late Models. The drivers secured enough laps to do three segments for the evening. Wayland Childs with the most laps brought in was able to start on the pole for the first segment, he held on to the point until lap six when TJ Morse took over and went on to win segment one. Segment two is started from an invert of the cars on the track from segment one, giving Don Reynolds the opportunity to bring the field to the green. Bryan King would get the lead before the end of lap one and go on to win the second segment. The third segment again inverted from the prior one saw Don Reynolds once again on point for the initial green, and again he was unable to hold on as TJ Morse got by him to take the point. King came back to the front by lap five and went on to win the third segment. With the two wins and a fifth place King would be the overall winner as he finished ahead of Will Hull in the third segment who was tied with him in points overall. Ties in the madness events are broken by the last segment how the driver finishes. Will Hull took second overall and Wayland Childs got third. Tim Martin and TJ Morse rounded out the top five.
Danny Doyle becomes the third driver with three wins in the Weglarz Property Service Four Cylinders as he crossed the line ahead of the points leader and one of the other two drivers with three wins for the season. Both Doyle and Jesse Durkee had to work their way to the front to make it to victory lane, and along the way grabbed Matt Boucher who joined them in victory lane. Buddy Welch and Kevin LaForest completed the top five.
Also on hand were the Granite State Mini Sprints and the Sprint Cars of New England. In the Granite State Mini Sprints 500cc Tanner Siemons did just the opposite of what his father did in the Modifieds, by getting by the leader on the last lap to beat him out by inches for his first win of the season at Bear Ridge Speedway. Riley Chaffee would end up being the bridesmaid this night with Ken Strisburg joining them in victory lane in third. In the 600cc John Scarbough grabbed the win over John Mill and Tony Shaw.
For the Sprint Cars of New England the track once again proved to be wicked fast as they went green to checkers for twenty five laps. Dan Douville got by Mike Chaffee on lap seventeen to go on for the win with Luke Greenwood and Kevin Chaffee joining him in victory lane. Chaffee held on for third with rookie Matt Hoyt coming home in fifth.
Bear Ridge Speedway’s 49th season of stock car racing continues on Saturday, July 30th with our David’s House Benefit with a full card of racing featuring the Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds, Wells River Chevrolet DIRTcar Sportsman Coupes, Laquerre’s Sports USAC DMA Midgets, Mike Rivers Automotive Limited Late Models, and the Weglarz Property Service Four Cylinders. Plus 4/6 Cylinder Enduro plus Kids Bike Races all brought to you by Dennis Preston Builder. General admission pricing applies: $10.00 adults; $8.00 teens & seniors, and $2 for children; Visa and MasterCard are accepted. Racing begins at the famous “6:00-ish” start time.
Bear Ridge Speedway is located on Kidder Road in Bradford, VT, just off Exit 16 on Interstate 91. For more information, call (802) 222-4052 or visit

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS – Interstate Battery of Newmont & JTB Towing & Recovery NIGHT
99ROCK Weekly Racing Series
Bear Ridge Speedway — Bradford, VT
Saturday, July 23, 2016
(features only)
Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Feature (40 Laps)
1st 11 Josh Sunn
2nd 5 Gary Siemons
3rd 42T Robert Tucker
4th 10s Ryan Christian
5th 4 DJ Robinson
6th 91nh James Fadden ®
7th 73 Kevin Chaffee
8th 70 Lenny Pillsbury ®
9th 15 Adam Pierson
10th 97 Terry Williams ®
11th 17nh Blaine Dorman
12th 42c Josh Currier
13th 91 Tim Tucker
14th 18 Matt Lashua ®
15th 9 Michael Dunn
16th 631 Todd Buckwold ®
17th F82 Thomas Kimball
18th 22b Martin Mastic
19th 63 Trever Rocke ®
20th 21 Adam Gage
21st 40 Steven Flint
22nd 12c Jamie Ferland

Heat race one winner:
Heat race two winner:
Heat race three winner:

Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupe Feature (30 laps)
1 56 Chris LaForest ®
2 44 Michael Danforth
3 17 Todd Dunham
4 3 Jason Horniak
5 18 Jason Colbeth
6 21e Matt Ellsworth
7 14 Mitchell Frost
8 16 Brian Chaffee
9 43 Earl Maxham
10 78 Stan Otterman
11 13 Buster Kathan
12 28 Bob Shepard
13 71 Josh Harrington
14 42 Tyler Maxham ®
15 22 Thomas Placey
16 33 Melvin Pierson

Heat winners:
Heat one:
Heat two:

Laquerre’s Sports USAC DMA Midgets Feature (25 laps)
Heat Winners:
Heat one:
Heat two:
Elliott Beverage Dash winner:

Mike Rivers Automotive Limited Late Model Feature (madness three segments)
1st 2 Brian King
2nd 15 Will Hull
3rd O2 Wayland Childs ®
4th 83 Tim Martin
5th 11 TJ Morse®
6th 87 Don Reynolds
7th 4 Cary Moulton
DNS o5 Chad Martin (DNS)

Weglarz Property Management 4-Cylinder Feature (20 laps)
1st o2 Danny Doyle
2nd 88 Jesse Durkee
3rd 71x Matt Boucher
4th 65 Robert Welch
5th 49 Kevin Laforest ®
6th 86 Mike Ryan
7th 22 Jonathon Baker
8th 91x Tyler Cloutier
9th 54 Trevor Marsh
10th 3 Charlie Lakin
11th 71 Rodney Davis
12th 11vt Jacob Roy
13th 24 Bobby Bell
14th 17 Shane Stygles
15th 83 Mike Sherburne

Contact: April May Preston Email:
Phone: (802) 222-4052