First time winners this season in both DIRTcar sanctioned divisions as Todd Buckwold gets the win in the Sportsman Modified Feature and Melvin Pierson grabs his first in the Sportsman Coupes

First time winners this season in both DIRTcar sanctioned divisions as Todd Buckwold gets the win in the Sportsman Modified Feature and Melvin Pierson grabs his first in the Sportsman Coupes

  For Immediate Release           BRS-080418-01

After gallons of water saturated the track the skies cleared to offer some great racing excitement. Several early flips in the visiting Granite State Mini Sprints and Wingless Auto Club looked to make for an extra long night but once the track got worked in things settled down for some of the best racing action of the season.
Yet another driver gets his notch in the win column in the Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds. Rookie Mike Ryan was dominate throughout most of the event, but a late race bobble would give Todd Buckwold the break he was looking for having worked his way to the front to mid pack. Buckwold would get past Ryan for the lead on lap thirty-one, and set his sights on the checkers. Ryan would not be able to regain the lead as he held off the hard-fought efforts of Richie Simmons who was challenging him for second.  Ryan held on to second for his first victory lane visit of the season with Simmons taking third. Derrick Graham making a rare appearance this season showed the crowd and the competitors that he still knew how to get around the Ridge, claimed fourth with Jordan Fornwalt taking home fifth.
It was madness night for the Wells River Chevrolet DIRTcar Sportsman Coupes, which means double points were on the line and after all sponsored laps were collected over $9,000.00 in purse and lap money. Four thirty-two lap segments were run and the points tallied at the end to determine the overall winner. Segment one was credited to Tanner Siemons, the second was claimed by Melvin Pierson, the third back to Siemons and the fourth to Jason Horniak. Pierson would be the one to come out on top with a 4th, 1st, 2nd, and 4th giving him a total of 11 points. Second went to Todd Hayward for his 2nd, 10th, 3rd, and 2nd equaling 17 points. Josh Harrington earned third with his 6th, 3rd, 5th, and 3rd summing 17 points. The tie was broken by the last segment finish giving Hayward the spot over Harrington. Jason Horniak and Tanner Siemons completed the top five.
The Laquerre’s Sports USAC DMA Midget were off and will return to action on 8/11/18.
The C.A. Miller Limited Late Models once again saw Ryan Christian taking the lead half way thru the event and then cruising on to his ninth win of the season. Toby Stark in the Nutter machine took home second with Kelly Miller grabbing third. George Osgood and Walt Hammond rounded out the top five.
Buddy Welch from a mid-pack start was able to grab his third win of the season in the Weglarz Property Service Four Cylinders tying himself with Danny Doyle and Jason Porter for wins in the division. Bobby Bell crossed the line in second with Jason Porter grabbing the final victory lane spot. Danny Doyle and Jessie Durkee completed the top five.
The Granite State Mini Sprints after flipping three machines saw the 51 of Riley Chaffee take the win with Tom Chaffee crossing second and the 24 of Joe Kemp coming home third. Matt Caley and Matthew Collins completed the top five in the 500cc. In the 600cc it was Drew Eldridge for the win with Zach Herbert in second and Tony Shaw in third. Tyler Jones and Kyle Pittman rounded out that top five
The Wingless Auto Club also suffered a couple of role overs with three of the machines not being able to advance to the main event. When the remaining completed their event, Jamie Glidden was scored with the win with Mark Cole coming home in second and Sam Comeau in third. Shawn Lawler and Doug Boucher rounded out the top five.
Bear Ridge Speedway’s 51st season of dirt car racing continues Saturday, August 11th with Topless Night and Kids Ridges brought to you by Swenson Insurance. In addition to our regular 99Rock weekly racing series which consists of the Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds, Wells River Chevrolet DIRTcar Sportsman Coupes, USAC DMA Laquerre Sports Midges, C.A. Miller Inc Limited Late Models, and the Weglarz Property Service Four Cylinders the Wingless Auto Club will also be on hand. General admission for the 99Rock Weekly Racing Series is $10 for adults (age 18-61), $8 teens (12-17) and seniors (62+), and $2 for children; Visa and MasterCard are accepted.  Racing begins at the famous “6:00-ish” start time.
Bear Ridge Speedway is as an alcohol-free family friendly entertainment spot, with our goal to make each experience at the Ridge better than the last. Remember “Dirt where every lap is the last lap” we continue to offer the best source of good inexpensive high-quality entertainment for families.
Bear Ridge Speedway is located off exit 16 of I91 on to Rte 25 west 1 mile to South Road up the hill to Kidder Rd. The green will wave every Saturday at 6:00 pm(ish). Be sure to check the web Questions can be sent to
UNOFFICIAL RESULTS – 51st Season of Racing Walker Motor Sales John Poor Memorial night
99ROCK Weekly Racing Series
Bear Ridge Speedway — Bradford, VT
Saturday, August 4, 2018

Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds (40 Laps)
1st 631 Todd Buckwold
2nd 86 Mike Ryan
3rd 34 Richie Simmons
4th 10 Derek Graham
5th 24 Jordan Fornwalt
6th 73 Kevin Chaffee
7th 2nh Tanner Siemons ®
8th 4 DJ Robinson
9th 97 Terry Williams
10th 42T Robert Tucker
11th 27 Chris Clark
12th 91 Tim Tucker
13th 98 Walter Hammond
14th 8 Steve Lary
15th 10s Ryan Christian
16th 6 Jeremy Huntoon
17th 40 Steve Flint
18th 9 Michael Dunn
Heat one winner: Mike Ryan
Heat two winner: Steve Lary

Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupe Feature (four 32 lap segments)
Segment one winner: Tanner Siemons
Segment two winner: Melvin Pierson
Segment three winner: Tanner Siemons
Segment four winner: Jason Horniak
1st 33 Melvin Pierson
2nd 20 Todd Hayward
3rd 71 Josh Harrington
4th 3 Jason Horniak
5th 5 Tanner Siemons
6th 44 Gene Pierson
7th o9 Tad Kingsbury
8th 18 Jason Colbeth
9th 56 Chris LaForest
10th 17 Earl Maxham
11th 43 Kevin Dickenson
12th 77 Robert Kilburn
13th 81 Dan Johnston
14th 21 Matt Ellsworth
15th 63 Mike Stender

Laquerre’s Sports USAC DMA Midgets Feature (25)
 Off returning 8/11/18

C.A. Miller Limited Late Models Feature (25 laps)
1st 10c Ryan Christian
2nd o7 Toby Stark
3rd o4 Kelly Miller
4th 17 George Osgood
5th 88 Walt Hammond
6th 71 Todd  Dunham
7th 15 John Neddo
8th 316 Nicholas Longley

Weglarz Property Management 4-Cylinder Feature (20 laps)
1st 65 Robert Welch
2nd 24 Bobby  Bell
3rd 13 Jason Porter
4th 51 Danny Doyle
5th 88 Jesse Durkee
6th 8x Brett Fifield
7th 49 Kevin LaForest
8th 9 Zach Audet
9th 17 Cody Copeland
10th 37 Dustin Jackson
11th 6x Chris Cole
12th 3 Charlie Lakin
13th 5 Owen  Carbee
14th 8 Peter Burt
15th 89 Garrett Brown®
16th 75 Chase LaFoe
17th 66 Robert Audet
18th 82 Richard Stockwell
19th 4 David Durkee
20th 31 Richard Longley
21st 0vt Kelly Miller
22nd 83 Mike Sherburne
DNS 48 Mike  McClay(dns)
DNS 53 David  Flanders (dns)

Contact: April May Preston       Email:
Phone: (802) 222-4052