DJ Robinson Garners his First Victory of the Season in the Sportsman Modifieds

DJ Robinson Garners his First Victory of the Season in the Sportsman Modifieds

For Immediate Release BRS-081118-01

While moisture once again surrounded a lot of the adjacent areas Bear Ridge Speedway stayed dry and put on some fantastic racing on Swenson Insurance night. Joining the regular divisions of the 99Rock Weekly racing Series was the Wingless Auto Club along with Kids Rides, which makes the night one of the favorites for the children.
The Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds saw another driver notch their first win of the season. Like last week Mike Ryan led early but had his big advantage wiped out by multiple cautions. DJ Robinson, who started fourteenth on the field, blasted his way to the front using the high side to take the lead just before the halfway point of the event. While Robinson was out front a torrid battle for second ensued between Robert Tucker and Kevin Chaffee which was repeatedly interrupted by multiple caution flags. When the checkers finally flew it was DJ Robinson garnering his first win of the season with Kevin Chaffee winning the hard fought battle for second. Robert Tucker crossed the line third with Jordan Fornwalt fourth and Matt Lashua completing the top five.
The Wells River Chevrolet DIRTcar Sportsman Coupes saw Bob Kilburn and Kevin Dickinson swap the lead a few times before Tad Kingsbury worked by the duo to take the lead. A Red flag appeared on lap twelve for Jason Horniak, who flipped at the exit of turn four. Amazingly Horniak landed on all four wheels and drove away, rejoining the race at the rear. On the green Kingsbury opened up a large lead on Gene Pierson Jr, who was now running in the second spot with Todd Heyward now third after starting fourteenth. That is the way they finished with Tad Kingsbury winning for the third time this season. Gene Pierson Jr crossed the line in second with Todd Heyward third, Tanner Siemons fourth and points leader Melvin Pierson fifth.
The Laquerre’s Sports USAC Dirt Midgets Main Event saw Jeff Horn grab the lead at the green only to have Joe Krawiec take the top spot two laps later. His lead was short lived however as multi time winner Will Hull took the lead after the first caution and survived three more yellows to take the win. After a prolonged battle for second Adam Whitney took the spot with Derek O’Hearn finishing third. Joe Krawiec and Seth Carlson rounded out the top five.
The C.A. Miller Limited Late Models once again saw Ryan Christian take the win, his tenth of the season. This one was not as easy as he didn’t take the top spot until there were two laps to go in the event. John Neddo crossed the line second with Walt Hammond third, Kelly Miller Sr fourth and Nicholas Longley fifth.
A new power plant under the hood and a front row starting spot in the Weglarz Property Service Four Cylinder Feature turned out to be the winning combination for Kelly Miller Jr as he led every lap and claimed his first career victory. He fended off the repeated challenges of Jason Porter who finished second. Bobby Bell crossed the line third with Danny Doyle fourth and rookie Garrett Brown fifth.
The Wingless Auto Club saw Wade Prentice lead the first six laps before Sam Comeau took the lead and ran to the win. Multi time winner Jamie Glidden made a late race charge but had to settle for second with veteran Mark Cole third. Doug McPhail was fourth with Wade Prentice finishing fifth.
Bear Ridge Speedway’s 51st season of dirt car racing continues Saturday, August 18th with the Sabil& Sons sponsored NEAR/Old Timers Night 51st Season Celebration. In addition to our regular 99Rock weekly racing series which consists of the Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds, Wells River Chevrolet DIRTcar Sportsman Coupes, C.A. Miller Inc Limited Late Models and the Weglarz Property Service Four Cylinders the Sprint Cars of New England will also be on hand. Special General Admission for the 99Rock Weekly Racing Series is $13 for adults and $2 for children; Visa and MasterCard are accepted. Racing begins at the famous “6:00-ish” start time.
Bear Ridge Speedway is as an alcohol-free family friendly entertainment spot, with our goal to make each experience at the Ridge better than the last. Remember “Dirt where every lap is the last lap” we continue to offer the best source of good inexpensive high-quality entertainment for families.
Bear Ridge Speedway is located off exit 16 of I91 on to Rte 25 west 1 mile to South Road up the hill to Kidder Rd. The green will wave every Saturday at 6:00 pm(ish). Be sure to check the web Questions can be sent to
UNOFFICIAL RESULTS – 51st Season of Racing Swenson Insurance night
99ROCK Weekly Racing Series
Bear Ridge Speedway — Bradford, VT
Saturday, August 11, 2018

Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds (40 Laps)
1. DJ Robinson
2. Kevin Chaffee
3. Robert Tucker
4. Jordan Fornwalt
5. Matt Lashua
6. Derek Graham
7. Ryan Christian
8. Terry Williams
9. Stephen Flint
10. Richie Simmons
11. Todd Buckwold
12. Mike Ryan
13. Mike Dunn
14. Walter Hammond
15. Jeremy Huntoon
16. Stephen Lary
17. Chris Clark
18. Tanner Siemons

Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupe Feature (30 Laps)
1. Tad Kingsbury
2. Gene Pierson Jr
3. Todd Heyward
4. Tanner Siemons
5. Melvin Pierson
6. Kevin Dickinson
7. Earl Maxham
8. Jason Horniak
9. Matt Ellsworth
10. Chris LaForest
11. Jason Colbeth
12. Bob Killburn
13. Josh Harrington
14. Dan Johnston

Laquerre’s Sports USAC Dirt Midget Feature (25 Laps)
1. Will Hull
2. Adam Whitney
3. Derek O’Hearn
4. Joe Krawiec
5. Seth Carlson
6. Jason Goff
7. Justin Phillips
8. Jeff Horn
9. Bobby White
10. Randy Higginson
11. Mike Chaffee
12. Manny Dias
13. Branson Emerson
14. Hunter Garduno
15. Alex Rose-DNS

C.A. Miller Limited Late Model Feature (20 Laps)
1. Ryan Christian
2. John Neddo
3. Walt Hammond
4. Kelly Miller Sr
5. Nicholas Longley
6. George Osgood
7. Todd Dunham

Weglarz Property Management 4-Cylinder Feature (20 laps)
1. Kelly Miller Jr
2. Jason Porter
3. Bobby Bell
4. Danny Doyle
5. Garrett Brown
6. Owen Carbee
7. Cody Copeland
8. Charlie Lakin
9. Kevin LaBree
10. Jesse Durkee
11. Peter Burt
12. Robert Audet
13. Chris Cole
14. Richard Longley
15. Dylan Bell
16. Kevin LaForest
17. Richard Stockwell
18. 8x
19. Erin Aiken
20. Zach Audet
21. Buddy Welch
22. Chase LaFoe-DNS


Contact: April May Preston Email:
Phone: (802) 222-4052